Spazz Spazz Razamatazz

It was a comforting thing yesterday to again witness that I am not the only parent that has a 3 yr. old child that is a spazz! I say this with love in my heart and a smile on my face, but where oh where do these creatures get this Energy?!! I sincerely hope that the attention span is destined to lengthen because 15 seconds is just not enough time to get much done! How, exactly one gets distracted in the bathroom Between the releasing and the wiping is just simply beyond me. Is it possible to stay on task for a full 3 minute stretch because otherwise I'm not sure where we go from here?
It's amazing that we all make it to adulthood like we do. Was I really like this at this age?? I imagine human beings growing up 'in the wild' in this day and age as I look at my little one that I still, at 3 yrs. old, have to remind how to walk, lest she hurt herself, and I cringe thinking there'd be no way that we as a species would make it. How far off the line have we gone with our rubber-soled shoes, drive through Starbucks and electronic devices? So far we have come from the actual hunting and gathering that I sometimes wonder what would happen to us minus the skyscrapers, cars, and concrete? It's a funny mental vignette when I think about baby mammals in the wild--Hey, that's what we homo sapiens are!--and the fact that my daughter has yet to get down pat drying the moisture off her skin with a piece of toilet paper,..and she's been alive for three years already! Funny stuff. :-)
So often I feel like a broken record with my daughter: do this, don't do that, do that, don't do this. A happy, tireless broken record, but a broken record nonetheless. Why don't we pop out of the womb with more of a solid state living manual embedded in our psyche? I mean some basic things could be really helpful like 'wiping your own butt: 101', 'Sanitary Procedures for Survival: Overt and Sublime', 'How to Stay Alive in a Physical World where Gravity and Mass are King', 'Cleaning Up After Yourself Pts. I, II, and III', or even something like 'How to Safely Walk a Straight Line from Point A to Point B Without Injuring Yourself or Others'. Why not?...... Surely, most assuredly, God is Laughing. It is funny I must say, and even when it's not to me I certainly hope someone, somewhere is getting a kick out of it.
Parenting is an interesting and awesome job that both requires a lot and gives a lot. It empties you and then fills you up on an almost clock-work type basis. All I'll say at this point is Thank God for the Filling Up.