The Joys of the Low Bloodsugar Kid

Getting my 3 yr. old daughter to eat when she needs to eat and what she should eat can be to wage a war of sorts that many may well wave the white flag on. As a parent I feel fine waving that flag every once in a while, but not on a daily basis! Yes, it's true that they will eat once their blood sugar is at an all time low, and it's also true that they can be destructive little monsters by that point.
A case in point of the above synopsis would be this morning. Shayla was not interested in real food for dinner last night ie., not crackers or something with sugar in it. At this point she craves carbohydrates and that's all she really wants, except for the intermitent piece of broccoli or cauliflower. It's frustrating for us to say the least. This morning when she got up she was practically inconsolable. Once she had some oatmeal she was fine.
As parents we kind of get it coming and going. :) The kid is like, "No, I'm not going to eat what you want me to and when you want me to. That is up to me (they think). Also, when I don't eat what and when I should I'm, of course going to give you hell about it later because I'm going to feel like crap, but you know Dad, that's in your job desciption as a parent and it's in my job description to make sure that I fulfill my job properly as your kid. Also, the fact that I'm a lot like you should make you feel at home and not disturb you. Cheers Daddy!" ....so on we go. :)