The Miracles of Small Misses

Today while at the park with Shayla I was reminded of just how non-causal their (meaning a three year old's) thinking is. Actually, I get reminded of this everyday, however there are these lulls wherein you think it's safe to let your guard down and be a little lax and then you sometimes get shocked.
Today, was one of those days as we were at the park having a good old time with all these kids. I guess there were about 25 kids of varying ages there. Shayla is very interactive and so she starts running around with them, following certain ones and quickly becomes a part of the group mind. In situations like this one she gets very excited and does quick, spontaneous acrobatical moves that she would not otherwise take the risk to enact.
Excitement for a three year old can push other well ingrained (at home) common sense practices and rationale right out of their little head. It's not that they have a lot to work with at this age to start with, but even that gets jepordized in a field of adrenaline and excitement. There were a few times while we there that I had to instruct her on how to play with others (which she already knows, but gets lost in the frolick): take turns, ask first, at no time do you push or use force, etcetera. It's interesting how the excitement about something can override all these rules of engagement. That's not all it overrides either. There was an incident where she was going after a ball that another kid had thrown to her and being overshot she turned around and ran through a swing set on a diagonal line that was full of wildly swinging kids!! I couldn't believe that she did this! I don't think I had a right to be surprised, but I was. My heart lept up into the back of my throat, and fortunate for Shayla and for me one of the mothers that was pushing their kids caught what was happening and stopped her child in his swing just in time to avoid Shayla being slammed in the front of her head! That scared the pee diddle out of me, and Shayla, of course didn't even know what had been averted. I sighed in relief and appologized first, then thanked the mom. I then vowed...to do...what? I already keep an Eagle eye on her. I just can't help but think that these are the small miracles that keep us going day by day.
Thank goodness for those that watch over us.