The Rule Enforcer is Not an Easy Job

Strange as it may sound to some, being the rule enforcer can be an emotionally distressing as well as painful job. No one likes to witness their offspring, no matter the age, encountering the emotional effects of going against the grain of the established household order. As much as you know that it is for their benefit to sit with their hurt feelings, it still pangs the heart to watch them reap the consequences of pushing against well established bounds of behavior protocol.
It is a parent's natural desire of the heart to comfort an ego bruised child,.......most of the time :). However, one knows that overplaying this kind of 'emotional rescue' mission will create a child that will stop at nothing to manipulate reality to their liking. This may seem harmless at 34 mos., but somehow I know--thank God that I do--that if allowed that it could all too easily bloom into a social nightmare of the variety that people try to avoid being subjected to, and the parents of whom are constantly picking up after while making public appologies and reparations. In short, a nightmare of the kind that I do not wish to visit, God bless the children.
We are all survivalists. It is implanted in the animal core of who we are and children are no less so. In fact, children are sweet little naieve survivalists that are in the process of being socialized---naturalized, if you will. It takes balanced parental guiding to portray and teach proper social etiquette, and there ARE hurdles along the way. Hopefully they are recognized for what they are and find us parents 'awake' when they (the bahaviors) are taking place in their formative stages.
Ultimately, I trust that my Heart and my Love for my child will show me the true meandering path that is Fatherhood. It's not an easy job at times, but I can tell you..... the pay is Priceless. I mean it. Priceless.....like you've never known the word.