Time and Distance to a 3yr. Old (Shayla Really Misses Her Cousin Garret!)

My baby girl Shayla (3yrs.) doesn't understand why we can't just hop in the truck and boogie on over to cousin Garret's house in Houston for a little visit. We live in Austin.. Poor baby. We're going to go soon, but I try explaining that we have to plan that sort of thing for a weekend and that her mom would like to be a part of that trip as well. "But why, but why, but why?!" she pleads, not so much as a question, but of course more to the complicated nature of things. It's cute in a sort of sad way as these are aspects of life that slowly sink into all our heads when we were young. I console her by telling her, "It'll be Real Soon that we pay Garret and Family in Houston a visit. It doesn't take away the pang though. So retorts once I try to explain a little of the physics of physicality, "But I Want to go Now"! Yes, of course you do. Awww......Sorry baby.