Woohoo! Shayla Gets Enrolled in Pre-K!

Well, I think the time has come, and the 'I am the center of the world, aren't I?' bubble in the mind of our 4 1/2 year old daughter is going to undergo a little adjustment tomorrow morning. We are enrolling her in the Pre-K program of one of our local elementary schools. I think this is a tad different than if she was attending Pre-K at a facility that was just a Pre-K all on it's own, and nothing more. There are those of course. At this one however she will be exposed to kids her age all the way up to fifth-graders, I think it is. Although they will be in their own classes and everything she will see that there is a whole universe of kids and get a real sense of age and hierarchical order. I personally think that this will be pretty good for her developing psyche. Not in the sense of being the 'low man on the totem pole'--or girl, in this case, but rather to be introduced to a sense of societal order and hierarchy. I think it could be really good for her own personal socialization and self-conception within the masses. If she feels at all daunted by it, once introduced, I am right here to quell her fears.

If our past experience with our beautiful daughter is any indication, I think she will very likely enjoy it to the point where we may have to reign her in slightly. What does that look like you say? It looks like this: "Shayla, we are so happy that you are loving Pre-K and your teacher, and your 'friends' so much, but no you may not sleep at school. It's not designed that way. They expect you to go home at the end of everyday, and then show up in the morning on the following day, and the day after that. Being there for 6 hours everyday is plenty. We are your parents and we love you, and we want to spend time with you everyday as well. I know you miss your 'friends', but you will see them again tomorrow." Who knows how it will be? We will see shortly. If she is intimidated and scared we will soothe her, but chances are, I think she will love it. Onward and Upward: Shayla is growing up.